Home > Web > Stealth Bookmarklets

Stealth Bookmarklets

February 2, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

Web

I’ve been using bookmarklets for a while now (apart from a brief hiatus when an update to Safari broke them!) and they are very useful.  The kind of useful that you forget that not everyone has them and if you’re stranded without them you can’t believe how you managed before they came along!

Just recently I’ve started to move bookmarklets from my bookmarklets folder in my bookmarks into my bookmark bar, replacing the normal bookmarks.  For example in my bookmarks bar I have links for Google, Google Maps, Apple, Wikipedia and so on.

My new line up looks the same but is a little bit more useful, due to the new “stealth” bookmarklets.  These seem like normal bookmarks, but when you click on them when there is some text selected on the current page they use them as input for that service.

For example if I’m reading an article and want to look up something on Wikipedia, I highlight that term, and click on the link.  The browser loads the page as usual, except it brings up a page related to my term, automagically.

Here’s the ones I’ve put together.  If you want to use them drag them to your bookmark bar or favourites.  I’ve only tested them in Safari but I’m sure it’ll work in other browsers too.

Wikipedia

Google Maps

Google

Categories: Web Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

